Interesting Instruments

I’ve been practicing ukulele since last month, singing while strumming accompanying chords. I love traditional Hawaiian music, in which men frequently use their falsetto voice – I totally love doing that, singing up high. One of my favorite songs is Over the Rainbow, arranged by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole, where I use my falsetto, and then I’m also practicing Unchained Melody, which stays entirely in my baritone range – a nice contrast to my high voice. I’ve already begun performing these songs for various friends’ celebrations.

playing-ukulele

Lately, I’ve been particularly inspired by the famous men’s group, Chanticleer, and was lucky to attend their Denver concert a few weeks back. Many of the guys sing alto and even soprano – and I mean, absolutely as high as a female voice; it’s incredible and so beautiful… I have lots of their CD’s, but nothing beats hearing Chanticleer live.  http://www.chanticleer.org/#about-chanticleer

Another fun exploration is the jaw-harp, which I’ve messed with since childhood. So I finally decided to get a professional one, and it was sent to me all the way from St. Petersburg in Russia! It has a hand-carved case made of larch wood, and I love the sounds I can make with it. Here’s a cool YouTube video of jaw-harp virtuosity:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JCfCKHcaZQ

jawharpplaying-jawharp

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

