Elf – KoAloha – Meditation!

“Make it sparkle jolly twinkle jingle, shiny showy cheery kringle, razzle dazzle ring-a-lingle…” That’s from Elf, the musical that Benjamin performed in at the beginning of December– getting everyone in a holiday mood! And that put him in mind to write a Christmas letter to friends and extended family – here’s a snippet, touching on the most recent happenings:

Hey, guess what… In November, I got a new ukulele!!! For the past year, I had been teaching myself to play on an instrument generously loaned to me from my neighbor. And I finally found my dream ukulele at our local music store — a beautiful “KoAloha” from Hawaii! Here’s a picture of me playing my new instrument.

Life has also had it’s challenges this year. I’ve been dealing with higher levels of OCD and anxiety, which has made it harder to get through life. But, I’ve found a helpful coping-strategy…guided meditations on YouTube! Just recently, I gave a meditation workshop back at my former high school for students and staff during lunch time. I thought it might help them cope with the stress of upcoming finals. I did a little speaking, then played two different YouTube meditations which I find especially helpful. This event was well-attended!

If any of you are interested in meditation, here are the links to my two favorite meditation channels on YouTube:

“Linda Hall:” https://www.youtube.com/user/AudioMeditation and                                    “The Honest Guys:” https://www.youtube.com/user/TheHonestGuys  

Another thing I’ve found is sleep music for inducing delta (sleep) brainwaves (clinically proven audio technology), as I’m a restless sleeper. I’ll also send that to you: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7lZ9-yACROE   I hope you find these things helpful too!

Happy Holidays, and all the best in the New Year!

One response to “Elf – KoAloha – Meditation!

  1. Pingback: Giving Back | Autism Blog: Benjamin Breaking Barriers·

Leave a comment